top of page

Starter Guide to DIY Skincare


I have been obsessed with delicious facial goodies for longer than my memory serves. It is this fixation which drove the long hours I spent perfecting a home-spun beauty regime. I am happy to say that it all paid off, because my skin looks and feels better than ever….whilst pushing forty. In fact, I look just like this lady in the stock image I used. Really! Not really; but my skin feels great and I enjoy the DIY process every time I do it.

Let's start with face wash. The honey face wash works for all skin types. Just try it. My face polish is edible, but works wonders on tired skin, too. The night cream is miracle in a jar. Don’t go without it. The eczema cream heals in a gentle yet effective way and is a really fantastic alternative to cortisone. I am still developing a day cream while I surrender my attachment to Dr. Hauschka Rose Cream. Watch this space.

HONEY FACE WASH

honey face wash ingredients

Honey is an elixir for the skin – boasting all of the following skincare properties

  • Antibacterial – it’s fabulous for clearing impurities

  • Anti Ageing – due to the natural antioxidants in raw honey

  • Moisturising – has natural moisturizing properties that make the skin soft and supple

This face wash is really fabulous particularly for sensitive skin but it is also a winner for ageing and acne prone skin. The only down side is that the smell of the honey really comes through so you have to take that into account when mixing your essential oils. I just ignore the smell and use the essential oils with the properties I am looking for my skin – see below recipe. Feel free to do your own experimentation and let me know how it goes!

Ingredients

1/2 c glycerine

3 tbsp honey

2 tbsp castile soap

Add 4 drops of chamomile oil for soothing properties, or lavender for combination skin.

Combine all ingredients and store in a squeeze or pump bottle (I just reuse old ones).

*Keep milled oats (grind finely in coffee grinder) on hand for a soothing face scrub. Just add a handful to the dollop of face wash in your hand and apply to face, then wash with warm water.

REJUVENATING FACE POLISH

I use this face polish when I need a long-term overhaul, and like to think of it as my version of doing a package of several AHA skin peels. Sugar is a natural form of glycolic acid, which helps reduce appearance of fine lines and uneven texture. The oils leave the skin silky soft, and the charcoal sweeps away impurities in the skin. Lemon oil is a added as it brightens and rejuvenates the skin.

Simply combine the following

1 c sugar

3 tbsp melted coconut oil

1/4c grapeseed oil

1tbsp activated charcoal

8 drops lemon oil

NIGHT CREAM

miracle night cream ingredients

At the risk of sounding like a sales pitch….this cream is totally dreamy. After only a few evenings of massaging this beautiful night cream into my face, my complexion I must say was completely and utterly transformed. I used an essential oil blend that is ideal for soothing, clearing bacteria, and reducing lines – but you can tailor it according to your needs.

Ingredients

1/4 c jojoba oil

2 tbsp beeswax

2 tbsp coconut oil

1tbsp shea butter

1/2tsp Vitamin E Oil

Method

Start a double boiler or if you want a shortcut you can use the microwave on low heat (!). Warm all ingredients until they combine. Blend with a stick blender as the cream cools. Store at room temperature.

ECZEMA CREAM

This is the best eczema cream on the planet. Our family has been riddled with baby eczema, eye eczema, and little itchy scratchy burny patches - to the point that we were even resorting to cortisone. This cream, like most natural alternatives, takes longer to heal but the effects are also longer lasting with no side effects.

Ingredients

1/2c shea butter

½ c coconut oil

1/4c calendula infused oil

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp beeswax

30 drops lavender

8 drops tea tree oil

Method

Heat all ingredients in a double boiler until beeswax is melted. Take off the heat and blend with a stick blender. Continue blending every 10 minutes as the mixture cools to room temperature, so that the mixture makes a cream type consistency.

bottom of page